This page was printed from

U.S. tsunami warning system complete

Industry News | May 1, 2008 | By:

The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) has set the last two buoys in the U.S. tsunami warning system. The network of 39 stations allows faster and more accurate tsunami warnings between coastal communities in the Pacific, Atlantic, Caribbean and the Gulf of Mexico. Since the Indonesian tsunami of 2004, the NOAA expanded the network of buoys from six to 39, increasing coverage to include the western Pacific and the Atlantic from only the eastern Pacific.

The NOAA is currently helping Australia and Indonesia install tsunami warning systems.

Share this Story

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comments are moderated and will show up after being approved.