Marine industry veterans receive Alan J. Freedman Award

Published On: March 8, 2016Categories: Industry News, News

The National Marine Manufacturers Association (NMMA) honored Ken and Rick Garelick, president and senior vice president, respectively, of Garelick Manufacturing Co., with the 2016 Alan J. Freedman Memorial Leadership Award during the recreational boating industry breakfast at the 2016 Progressive Insurance Miami International Boat Show.

Rick and Ken are second-generation leaders of their St. Paul Park, Minn.-based company and they continue to build their brand with quality products and innovation. This year marks the company’s 65th anniversary.

Rick Garelick served as chairman for the American Boat and Yacht Council (ABYC) hardware committee from 2006–2013 and has helped develop more than 20 active patents for marine OEM and aftermarket applications.

Ken Garelick served on the National Association of Marine Products and Services board throughout the 1980s and ’90s and was chairman from 1995–1997.

The Alan J. Freedman Memorial Leadership Award is awarded to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the marine accessories industry through leadership, creativity and personal motivation.