ABYC announces Outstanding Technician winners

Published On: April 30, 2024Categories: Awards, Industry News, News

The American Boat and Yacht Council (ABYC) has announced the recipients of the 2024 Outstanding Technician Awards. Sponsored by Yamaha, the awards were given to 10 technicians selected from over 130 nominees.

This year’s winners are BJ Benson from Viking Marine (WA), Ryan Coffin from Yarmouth Boat Yard (ME), Brian Ehlers from MarineMax Texas MasterCraft (TX), Sean Fabio from Gage Marine (WI), Thomas Huthmaker from Port Annapolis Marina (MD), Cliff Manlapaz from Diversified Marine Services (MD), Gregory Michael from Pinnacle Marine Group (FL), Tim Murphy from Kingman Yacht Center (MA), Jason Ustaszewski from Cape Marine Survey (FL), and Brian Vandeyacht from Irish Boat Show (MI).

A new category, New Achiever, recognizes newcomers to the industry who demonstrate outstanding potential and skills. This year’s New Achievers are Jack Truett from Truett Marine Services (MD) and Alex Harlow from Harborside Marina (CT).

The event, now in its third year, aims to highlight marine service professionals excelling in customer service, technical training and industry involvement. The winners receive a $100 VISA gift card and a technician prize pack.